21
Apr
2005

Tongariro Crossing

The final days in New Zealand I used for the famous Tangariro-Crossing-Trail. More exactly I've done a circle walk around Mount Ngauruhoe beginning at the Wakapapa village. From where I headed for the Waihohonu hut and slept there over night. I started quit late. So it was darkening then I reached the hut. Next day was tough for man and material. After passing the Oturere hut the sky opened its doors and it was raining till the evening. When I reached the Ketetahi hut I was wet till the bones and I think I had a small hypothermia. So I was lying in my (as well wet) sleeping bag when the sun came out for the last call. Till then my photo was doing nothing. But the next day was tough work for him. Let's give You some impressions of a wonderful Tongariro-Crossing.

Good morning!

Waking up in Ketetahi Hut

The private hot springs belonging to some Maoris. Seems they are somehow sacred.

Hot springs near Ketetahi Hut

The view from Ketetahi hut

Outlook from Ketetahi

Ready for the crossing

On the Crossing

A very young lava flow in front of the Red Crater

Cold lava flow

The active Red Crater

Red Crater

Some clouds were still present when I reached the summit of the Red Crater. This was not really bad because the clouds give the panorama something spectacular.

Looming Ngauruhoe

The famous Tongariro Crossing normally packed with day-hikers

Tongariro Panorama

Some bagpacks waiting

Bagpacks on Tongariro

Within some minutes Mount Tongariro can be reached from Red Crater

On Mount Tongariro

The toughest work this day: Mount Ngauruhoe

Tough work

After one hour I had a perfect view over the Crossing

On Mount Ngauruhoe

Look onto Tongariro Crossing

Again some clouds and some other visitors

On Mount Ngauruhoe

The crater of the sometimes active volcano

Ngauruhoe crater

In the evening I stopped at the Mangatepopo hut. There the sunset let Mount Ngauruhoe glow. Some effect I saw first in Chile.

Glowing Ngauruhoe

Next day I headed back for Wakapapa village. The trail between is not easy but very beautiful. In the distance Mount Taranaki was visible. It is always impressive to see this huge mountain in a more or less totally flat surrounding.

Lone Taranaki looming at the horizon
Desideria - 22. Apr, 13:23

Thanks again ...

for the wonderful pictures.

Persian Papers

Skaif Yomonul

User Status

Du bist nicht angemeldet.

Mount Taranaki

WebCam Mount Taranaki, North Island, new Zealand

Latest Picture

Nhon Trach - I&C Crew

Random Picture

Weite Gasse 24

In der Endlosschleife

Suche

 

Archiv

April 2005
Mo
Di
Mi
Do
Fr
Sa
So
 
 
 
 
 5 
 7 
 8 
 9 
10
11
14
23
25
26
27
29
30
 
 

Aktuelle Beiträge

Musikwünsche sind willkommen
Wenn Ihr für ein Lied brennt, dann tragt es bitte hier...
skaifyomonul - 9. Jul, 14:19
Freitager Musiknacht...
Saustallöffnung nachdem die Kinder schlafen und der...
skaifyomonul - 9. Jul, 14:17
Targets
Deutschland Fernwanderwege in Deutschland...
skaifyomonul - 27. Mär, 07:47
ich hab mir gestern eine...
ich hab mir gestern eine Sendung angeschaut, die heißt...
Morrissey - 27. Nov, 18:36
Advant-Kurs für Nhon...
Heute musste ich mal wieder Schützlinge entlassen: Die...
skaifyomonul - 16. Nov, 16:11

Status

Online seit 7642 Tagen
Zuletzt aktualisiert: 9. Jul, 14:19

Addresse
Australien
Austria
Bahn
Belarus
Bolivien
Buecher
Chile
China
Computerwelt
DAV
Deutschland
Ecuador
Einsatz Der Waffen
Entwicklung
Filme
... weitere
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren